Monday, March 16, 2009

Nominees for 2009 CFDA Fashion Awards Announced

The Council of Fashion Designers of America has announced the nominees for the 2009 CFDA Fashion Awards. This year's Board of Director's Special Tribute honours First Lady Michelle Obama, who has impressed the fashion industry with her sartorial choices and preference for young, up-and-coming talent. Emerging designers in particular (including Obama favourites Thakoon and Jason Wu) are recognized by the Swarovski awards. The awards will this year take place on June 15, 2009 in Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall after being held for seven years at the New York Public library.

2009 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees & Honorees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year award:
Marc Jacobs, Narciso Rodriguez, Rodarte's Kate and Laura Mulleavy.

Menswear Designer of the Year award:
Calvin Klein Collection's Italo Zucchelli, Michael Bastian and Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders.

Accessory Designer of the Year award:
Marc Jacobs, Vera Wang, Proenza Schouler's Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez.

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:
Thakoon Panichgul, Alexander Wang, Jason Wu.

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Patrik Ervell, Robert Geller, Tim Hamilton.

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:
Albertus Q. Swanepoel, Alejandro Ingelmo, Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry.

International Award:
Marc Jacobs for Louis Vuitton

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Anna Sui

Eugenia Sheppard Award:
Edward Nardoza, Women's Wear Daily editor in chief

Eleanor Lambert Award:
Jim Moore, creative director of GQ Magazine

No comments: